Do You Know? Two Journalists Earn ₹602 Crore As Their Stake

NDTV founders Prannoy and Radhika Roy will earn over ₹602 crore by selling their combined 27.26% stake in the newscaster to Adani Enterprises, according to the exchange documents.

The billionaire-led company Gautam Adani acquired shares from Roys at ₹342.65 per share in several block deals that closed on Friday. Prannoy and Radhika now each hold 2.5% of NDTV’s capital.

Musk on toilet paper

Twitter employees are reportedly bringing their own toilet paper to the office after Elon Musk fired janitorial staff. A New York Times report said Twitter moved all staff to two floors, a move that left the company’s headquarters in “disarray”. When asked if that was true, Musk replied, “BYOTP! Lol, that was true for half a day.”

Lands wishing New Year first and last

The first countries in the world to welcome the New Year will be the Pacific islands of Tonga, Samoa and Kiribati, where January 1 begins at 10 a.m. GMT or 3:30 p.m. (IST) on December 31. The last places to welcome the New Year will be the uninhabited Howland and Baker Islands, near the United States, at 12 p.m. GMT or 5:30 p.m. IST on January 1.

40% of COVID cases in the US by Omicron subvariant XBB.1.5

More than 40% of COVID-19 cases in the United States are now caused by the highly contagious Omicron XBB.1.5, according to data from the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Seven of the 10 US states with rising cases and hospitalizations are in the Northeast, alongside an increase in XBB cases there, said Michael Osterholm, an infectious disease expert.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top